Week 3: My 40 days to personal revolution

ParallelLiving.net | Week 3: My 40 days to personal revolution

ParallelLiving.net | Week 3: My 40 days to personal revolution

I realised some time ago that the only thing in life that I have control over is my perspective – how I personally experience the world, and what meaning I give to situations, events, and feelings. Empowered with this distinction I embraced the 40 days to personal revolution theme this week of “equanimity”.

Equanimity involves dealing with life’s challenges gracefully, choosing not to react in a negative manner which results in the damaging cycle of anger, blame and stress.

Embracing equanimity means that we maintain our composure and shift our focus to the internal (ourselves) away from the external (people, events, things etc.). It’s about realising that we’re all responsible for the results we get in life and the situations we find ourselves in.

Living with equanimity positions us for a better life experience, improved well being, and allows us to make more rational decisions that will lead to better results in life and business!

Personally I’ve found that when “Vitality” (the theme of last week) is present in my life that I’m in a much better position to live with equanimity!

The theme of equanimity has permeated into my Yoga practice this week as a result of my focus on on cultivating stillness. That is; holding each Asana in a composed, strong, and still manner. This isn’t just “staying when I want to run”, but staying still, and maintaining my breathing and drishti focus.

This week the meditation sessions were extended to 15 minutes twice each day which I’ve enjoyed. After meditating for almost 4 years now I believe that longer meditation sessions are more effective because they allow my mind time to settle and clarity to emerge. Meditation presents the opportunity for us to come into stillness and when we come into stillness and maintain this we start to understand the nature of our mind and our true self. If you’re interested in learning more about meditation check out my post “So you exercise and eat well but what about your mind?”

Talking to to some of my fellow class mates from Yoga Loft Newcastle about meditation this week I’ve been asked about my experience on the ten day silent Vipassana meditation retreat. I’m working on a blog post about this, keep an eye out for it on ParallelLiving.net in the future.

This week I completed six studio practices however as I had to travel for business and was away from my local yoga studio I attended a 90 minute “Bikram” Yoga class at another studio….

I’m not in a hurry to do another “Bikram” Yoga class… In comparison to Power Vinyasa flow I found this style of Yoga bland, uninspiring, and boring. Thanks to Baron Baptiste Yoga seems to have evolved and it’s now sexier, graceful, stronger, and a cross between yoga, dance, Pilates, and meditation with a sprinkling of spirituality, a dash of personal development, and a twist of fun thrown in to leave you looking and feeling good!

If you’re doing “Bikram” and haven’t tried Baron Baptiste’s Power Vinyasa Yoga you have to check it out…. You won’t go back…

The 40 day group came together at the conclusion of the week for our meeting and this week we reflected on what had come up and how we were challenged personally. Resentment was raised and we were asked to consider the damaging impact this has on our lives. The next week’s theme of “Restoration” was introduced and the commencement of the “3 day fruit cleanse” which is being referred to as a “3 day fruit fast” was announced. This starts tomorrow and involves nothing but fruit, herbal tea, and water for 3 days which I’m not looking forward to!

I look forward to sharing my experience at the conclusion of week 4.

See you on the mat!

One response to “Week 3: My 40 days to personal revolution

  1. Pingback: Week 2: My 40 days to personal revolution | ParallelLiving.net·

Leave a Reply

